Next Adventure – Sakhalin!

In less than a week I’m leaving on my next Big Adventure. I’m moving to Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia where I will be working as an English teacher! I’m so excited to take this next step in life.

Sakhalin

Sakhalin is an island in the Far East of Russia just 28 miles north of Japan. The city I’ll be working in, Yuzhno, is actually 6,500 miles away from Moscow (whereas Dallas is less than 6,000 so I’ll be closer to home than the capital 🙂 )

I settled on Sakhalin because something about the job ad really grabbed me. Russia is somewhere that I’ve always been somewhat interested in but never really known that much about. I think that Russian literature is the best in the world, and something about balalaikas and Romanovs has always appealed to me. I really wanted to take Russian classes during my last year in university, but it didn’t work with my schedule and my friend wouldn’t take it with me.

I’m also excited for Sakhalin because for me, it is really like jumping into the deep end as I begin my career in TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language). I don’t speak any Russian and it’s a difficult place to get to, so it will definitely be a challenge. But I think that if I can survive this year, then I’ll be able to go anywhere 🙂

Surprisingly, Yuzhno will be the furthest south I’ll have lived outside the US! But it should be pretty cold, a lot colder than I’m used to 🙂 I believe the weather will be similar to that of Anchorage, Alaska, so I’m definitely going to have to bundle up.

Anyways, I’m very excited to be doing this and I’m sure it will provide me with many adventures for this blog!

 

 

Leave a Reply

